VolunteerAR is a joint effort of the Governor’s Advisory Commission on National Service and Volunteerism and the Department of Human Services’ Office of Communications and Community Engagement. The Commission is non-partisan and made up of passionate commissioners who believe that volunteers are vital to creating strong, vibrant communities. Each commissioner is appointed by the Governor and together they assist the Office with establishing volunteer and national service goals/priorities for the state. They also promote meaningful volunteerism and national service in Arkansas.

 

The DHS Office of Communications and Community Engagement (OCCE) believes that by engaging citizens in meaningful and impactful volunteer opportunities, we have the chance to tackle chronic social issues that keep Arkansans of all ages from living up to their full potential. We envision a state that has citizens who are engaged in service to others and communities that are transformed by that work. The Office administers the AmeriCorps program and other federally-funded national service programs. In addition, the Office works with a wide-range of non-profits and faith-based organizations from across Arkansas.  It also is the coordinating agency/office for volunteer and donations management within the state with the support of members of the Arkansas Voluntary Organizations Active in Disasters (ARVOAD).

The Community Engagement Team at Arkansas Department of Human Services

 

Shana Chaplin, CVM

Deputy Chief of Community Engagement and Faith-Based Partnerships | Shana.Chaplin@dhs.arkansas.gov | 501-320-6459

Ezell Breedlove, CVM

Volunteer Program Coordinator, VolunteerAR Portal Support | ezell.breedlove@dhs.arkansas.gov | 501-320-6091

Susan Love

State Voluntary Agency Liaison for Disasters | susan.love@dhs.arkansas.gov | 501-320-6467

Dekitra Ross-Larry, CVM

Volunteer Program Coordinator, Community Development Specialist | dekitra.ross-larry@dhs.arkansas.gov | 501-320-6448 

Jackie Stubblefield, CVM

Volunteer Program Coordinator, Disability and Aging Specialist | jackie.stubblefield@dhs.arkansas.gov | 501-320-6040 

Kimberly Simpson, CVM

Volunteer Program Coordinator, Program Recognition Specialist  | kimberly.simpson@dhs.arkansas.gov | 501-320-6599

Ashley-Brooke Moses, MPS, CVM

Volunteer Program Coordinator, Youth Engagement and Service-Learning Specialist | ashley.moses@dhs.arkansas.gov | 501-320-6458

 


 

Governor’s Advisory Commission on National Service and Volunteerism